Student Travel Grants

ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security (ACM CCS) would like to encourage graduate student participation in the conference by subsizing the travel costs of individuals who would otherwise be unable to attend the conference.

Who Should Apply

Any graduate student in good standing, regardless of nationality, or any other criteria, except as noted, may apply. The decisions will be based as much as possible on both what the individual may get from the conference and may bring to the conference. ACM CCS will cover student registration costs and subsidize travel costs. Each travel grant will include the registration of the main conference and one CCS workshop as well as a check of $300. The total value of each award is $870 or $910, depending on which workshop the awardee chooses. There will be up to ten (10) awardees.

While any student may apply for this travel support, the selection process will give preference to ACM CCS 2008 paper authors who are graduate students without sufficient travel funding. Awardees may not simultaneously draw on other sources of ACM funding for their travel or conference expenses.

How to Apply

Applications and supporting letters for a student travel grant should be emailed to the General Chair, Peng Ning (pning [at], between September 1, 2008 and September 19, 2008. Applications submitted outside of the submission period are not guaranteed to be considered. Award announcement will be made around September 26, 2008 October 3, 2008.

An application should consist of a paragraph stating why attending ACM CCS 2008 would be useful for his or her research. This paragraph should include (1) the type of paper (if any) she or he will present at ACM CCS 2008 (main conference and/or workshop), and (2) the applicant's school.

We also need a note from the student's advisor confirming that the student is a doctoral candidate in good standing.

Travel Support Grant Committee


  • Michael Steiner, IBM Research
  • Cliff Wang, Army Research Office

Committee Members:

  • Peng Ning, NC State University
  • Paul Syverson, Naval Research Lab


The following outstanding students have won the CCS08 student travel grants. Congratulations!

Charalampos Papamanthou (Brown University, USA)
Mohan Dhawan (Rutgers University, USA)
Ahmad Salah El Ahmad (University of Newcastle, UK)
Ali Bagherzandi (University of California, Irvine, USA)
Alexei Czeskis (University of Washington, USA)
Kevin Butler (Penn State University, USA)
Avik Chaudhuri (University of California, Santa Cruz, USA)
Vipul Goyal (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
Takao Kojima (Institute of Information Security, Japan)
Marion Daubignard (Université Joseph Fourier, France)